Sharing Ministries Blog

WHAT DOES IT COST YOU?

Posted on: February 6, 2012

Image

The month of Feb. is the month my Pastor teaches about stewardship with much emphasis because he wants us to learn how to become debt free and sin less..Today at Mt. Carmel M.B. Church, Pastor C.A. White, Sr. PREACHED! He stated what the Bible says and his scripture came from 2 Samuel. I learned a lot and I want to share a summary with you.

2 Samuel 24:24&25 “And the King said unto Araunah, Nay; but I will surely buy it of thee at a price: neither will I offer burnt offerings unto the Lord my God of that which doth cost me nothing. So David bought the threshingfloor and the oxen for fifty shekels of silver. And David built there an altar unto the Lord, and offered burnt offerings and peace offerings. So the Lord was intreated for the land, and the plague was stayed from Israel.” You have got to read the whole chapter (and attend Bible Study/Sunday School) to gain clarity of what was taking place. God was angry with David because he did something he was told by God not to do. “2 Samuel 24:10. And David’s heart smote him after that he had numbered the people. And David said unto the Lord, I have sinned greatly in that I have done: and now, I beseech thee O Lord, take away the iniquity of thy servant; for I have done very foolishly.”

 David was given three choices of punishment and David chose pestilence upon the people and 70,000 men died. 2 Samuel 24:17: “And David spake unto the Lord when he saw the angel that smote the people and said Lo, I have sinned and I have done wickedly; but these sheep what have they done? let thine hand, I pray thee be against me and against my father’s house.”

How true it is that when we sin others suffer because of our sins. In spite of David’s disobedience the The Lord was intreated for the land and the plague that was killing others stayed form Israel because of God’s Mercy. What does it cost you? What does it cost me? When sin is prevalent in our lives are we being good stewards over the assets and responsibilities God has left us in charge of? SALVATION is FREE but it DID & does cost!   Good stewards don’t just give money; we give our time and talent – because we are stewards not owners of the talent, time, and treasure we possess.  Stewardship is a reflection of our/my relationship with God. When you are out of order in the position God has placed you in as a servant leader/steward, you can’t function EFFECTIVELY!.

David was the apple of God’s eye – you know why? David was a man after God’s heart. He fell short over and over again, yet he repented over and over again. The issue of sin is not so much that we fall – it is that we fall and don’t repent. The victory is when we repent and confess. David did not try to cover up his sins – do you – do I?  What does it cost You and me to be a good steward? I can’t give GOD a sacrifice that don’t cost me nothing. Can you?

 

Leave a Reply

Daria’s Recent Blogs

Contact Sharing Ministries

937.545.5926
Call Us Today and let us Serve You!
